PlayStation Knowledge Center
The PSN Status Indicator is now located in the top right corner of PlayStation.com
When you rent videos from the
PlayStation Network Video Download Service, the videos in Standard Definition that was originally downloaded onto your PlayStation®3 computer entertainment system may be transferred to a PSP® portable entertainment system.
- Video Rentals in Standard Definition can only be transferred once from a PS3 to a single activated PSP system by the Sony Entertainment Network account that rented the video.
- Once the content is transferred, it can no longer be played on the PS3 system.
- To view the same rental video on any other PSP system or PS3, a new license must be purchased.
- All time limits that originally applied to the rental license will still apply to the license after content is transferred to a PSP system.
Rental videos transferred to a PSP system cannot be transferred to a 2nd PSP system (whether or not the 2nd PSP system is activated).
Please be aware, if you are simultaneously watching and downloading a video, the 24 hour clock will start the instant the video is first played. Since the download time will depend on the size of the video and your connection speed, a download may take several hours to complete. If you later decide to stop viewing the video to allow the download to finish, the 24 hour expiration will not stop because the video has not finished downloading which may cause the rental to expire before you finish watching the video.
Click here to learn how to download videos.
Click here for the terms and guidelines for rental videos from the PlayStation Network.