PlayStation Knowledge Center

Advanced Search
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by product.  Limit by product
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by category.  Limit by category
Search Tips
Was this answer helpful?
Thanks for your input!
Knowledge Center logo PlayStation Knowledge Center
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.
This is for feedback only. You will not receive a response.
Please provide your feedback below.
Still need help or have a question? Please contact us below.

Phone Icon Click here to view our phone support hours.
Forums Icon Click here to learn about Community Forums.
[PS3™ system] Updated 05/06/2013

With Data Transfer Utility you may now transfer data that is saved on one PS3™ system's hard disk to another PS3 system's hard disk with an ethernet cable.

Notices

  • When you perform this operation, all data that is stored on the destination PS3™ system will be deleted.
  • Deleted data cannot be restored, so be careful not to accidentally delete important data. Data loss or corruption is the responsibility of the user.
  • Some types of data may not be transferable. See "Limitation of the data transfer utility" below for details.

Please choose a topic below for more information about wireless networks:


Preparing the systems to transfer data

  • Before starting the data transfer operation, you must perform the following steps.
    1. Update the system software of both PS3™ systems to version 3.15.
    2. Prepare the PS3™ system that will send the data (the “source system”).
      If multiple users exist on the source PS3™ system, you must perform the following operations for all of the users before starting the data transfer operation.
  • Create a Sony Entertainment Network account if a user does not have an account.
    Select PlayStation®Network icon(PlayStation®Network) > Sign up for PlayStation®Network icon(Sign Up for PlayStation®Network). Click hereto learn how to create a Sony Entertainment Network account.
  • Deactivate the PS3™ system if the data to be transferred contains content that was purchased from PlayStation®Store.
    Select PlayStation®Network icon(PlayStation®Network) > Account Management icon(Account Management) > System Activation icon(System Activation). Click herefor more details on deactivating a system.
  • Back up, or "sync", trophy information on the PS3™ system with the PlayStation®Network server if you want to transfer trophy information.
    Sign in to PlayStation®Network, and then select Game icon(Game) > Trophy Collection icon(Trophy Collection).
  • Sign in to PlayStation Home icon(PlayStation®Home) before transferring the data if you have obtained reward items for use in PlayStation Home icon(PlayStation®Home) on the source system.
  • Back up your profile information and stages you created in LittleBigPlanet™ to your saved game. You can then use the data when playing LittleBigPlanet™ on the destination PS3™ system.

Notice

The following restrictions apply if you perform the data transfer operation without creating a Sony Entertainment Network account:

  • You may not be able to use the saved data on the destination PS3™ system.
  • You may no longer be able to earn trophies using the saved data that you transferred.
  • Trophy information is not transferred

[TOP]


Transferring Data

Turn off both PS3™ systems, and then perform the following steps.

  1. Using an Ethernet cable, make a direct connection between the two PS3™ systems.
  2. Connect the PS3™ systems to different video input connectors on the TV.
    For example, use the HDMI input connector and the video input connector on the TV.
  3. Turn on the TV, and then turn on the PS3™ systems.
    Use the TV remote control to switch the video input to display the screen of the source PS3™ system.
  4. On the source PS3™ system, select Settings icon(Settings) > System Settings icon(System Settings) > [Data Transfer Utility].
  5. Select [1. Transfer data from this system to the other PS3™ system.].
    If you did not complete the preparation steps described earlier, follow the on-screen instructions to complete these steps.

    Data Transfer screenshot 1

  6. When you see a message prompting you to display the destination PS3™ system's screen, use the TV remote control to switch the video input to display the screen of the destination PS3™ system.
  7. On the destination PS3™ system, select Settings icon(Settings) > System Settings icon(System Settings) > [Data Transfer Utility].
  8. Select [2. Transfer data from the other PS3™ system to this system.]
    Follow the on-screen instructions to complete the operation.

    Data Transfer screenshot 2

Hints

  • When transferring data, do not connect the systems using a router, switcher or other network devices.
  • Data such as photos, music and videos without copyright protection will be copied from one PS3™ system's hard disk to the other PS3™ system's hard disk. If the transferred data is saved game data that is copy-prohibited or data that is copyright-protected, such as games and videos purchased from the PlayStation®Store, it will be moved to the destination PS3™ system and deleted from the source PS3™ system.
  • After the data transfer operation has been completed, you can turn off the source PS3™ system. Set the TV to display the screen of the source PS3™ system, and then select Users icon(Users) > Turn off system icon(Turn Off System).
  • If content that was downloaded from PlayStation®Store was transferred as part of this operation, you must activate the destination PS3™ system before you can use the data. Log in to the PS3™ system as the user who owns the content, and then select PlayStation Network icon(PlayStation®Network) > Account Management icon(Account Management) > System Activation icon(System Activation) to activate the system.
  • When transferring data, do not connect the systems using a router, switcher or other network devices.

[TOP]


Limitations of the data transfer utility (as of December 10, 2009)

Some types of data cannot be transferred using the data transfer utility, and some types of data can be transferred but not played on the destination PS3™ system.

The following types of data are confirmed as not transferable:

  • Video content that has been downloaded as a rental from PlayStation®Store (file type: MNV)
  • Tracks (including "songpacks") for the SingStar® software that have been saved on the PS3™ system’s hard disk
  • Video files that are compatible with the DivX® VOD (Video On Demand) service
  • The following PlayStation®2 format software titles, if they are installed on the PS3™ system's hard disk:
    • FINAL FANTASY XI and Expansion Discs
    • SOCOM II: U.S. NAVY SEALs and Related discs included with Official PlayStation Magazine Issue 87, Issue 88, Issue 89, Issue 90
    • SOCOM 3: U.S. NAVY SEALs
    • SOCOM: U.S. NAVY SEALs Combined Assault

For the following data types, you must perform some additional steps after completing the data transfer to use the data:

  • Application data for Life with PlayStation®

    Download and install the Life with PlayStation® application on the destination PS3™ system. You can continue to accumulate contribution points for the PlayStation Network raking of the Folding@home™ channel.

  • GripShift®

    When you start the game for the first time after the data transfer operation, an error message will be displayed and you will not be able to play the game. To play the game, download and install the game again.

  • Saved data for Ghostbusters™: The Video Game

    The saved game will not be recognized when you start the game for the first time after the data transfer operation. To use the saved data, quit the game, and then start the game again.