PlayStation Knowledge Center

Advanced Search
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by product.  Limit by product
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by category.  Limit by category
Search Tips
Was this answer helpful?
Thanks for your input!
Knowledge Center logo PlayStation Knowledge Center
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.
This is for feedback only. You will not receive a response.
Please provide your feedback below.
Still need help or have a question? Please contact us below.

Phone Icon Click here to view our phone support hours.
Forums Icon Click here to learn about Community Forums.
[PS3™ system] Updated 10/02/2013

With Automatic Download, trial versions of games, game update data, video files and the latest system software update data can be automatically downloaded and installed directly to your PlayStation®3 system according to the time period you set. This feature is available to all users with software version 4.50 and later.


Automatic download

How it works

To turn on this feature, go to Settings icon (Settings) > System Settings icon (System Settings) > [Automatic Download] .


On Set to use the automatic download feature.
Off Set to not use the automatic download feature.

  • After selecting [On], use the directional buttons to select the time period during which you want the system to automatically download the content. If required, follow the on-screen instructions to confirm settings for automatic login to your system under Users icon(Users) and automatic sign-in to your Sony Entertainment Network account.
  • The Automatic Download feature:
    • turns on your PS3 system every 48 hours (during the timeframe you designate)
    • checks for content
    • downloads anything available to your PS3
    • shuts off your PS3 system
  • If your system is on during the timeframe you designate to check for updates, your PS3 will check for updates after it is turned off, during its next designated timeframe. This will likely be 24 – 48 hours later.
  • If you already have the content on your system, PlayStation Plus will not push the content to your system. (This is true even if you get the content and then delete it.)
  • This feature can be used on only one PS3 system per Sony Entertainment Network account. When this feature is set to [On] and [Automatic Download] has already been set on another PS3 using the same Sony Entertainment Network account, the setting on the other PS3 will be automatically set to [Off].
  • The PS3 must be in standby mode (power indicator is lit solid red) during the time period when you want the system to automatically download the content.
  • System software update data will be downloaded automatically but not installed. You must install the system software update data manually.
  • PlayStation Plus iconis displayed for content that has been automatically downloaded. Any content that has been automatically downloaded and installed but has not been used will be automatically deleted after one month.
  • Automatic download will not be performed if the amount of free space on your system’s hard disk is less than 5 GB.