PlayStation Knowledge Center
The PSN Status Indicator is now located in the top right corner of PlayStation.com
During certain troubleshooting situations, it may be necessary to restore all of the PS3 system settings to their original "default" configuration. This will restore the PS3 system software and information for the user that is logged in to default settings.
To Restore Default Settings :
- From the XMB home menu, go to (Settings) > (System Settings) > [Restore Default Settings].
- Once you select [Restore Default Settings], you will see a list of settings that will be restored. Scroll through them and press the button to restore the settings.
- After the operation is complete, you will see the initial setup screen that appeared the first time you turned on the PS3. You will need to go through the initial set up process before you can use the PS3.
The Restore Default Settings feature will erase any previously saved settings and restore all of the following settings to the default:
- Game Settings
- Video Settings
- Music Settings
- Chat Settings
- System Settings
This includes terms added using (Settings) > (System Settings) > [Add/Edit Term], or predictive terms "learned" by the on-screen keyboard.
- Theme Settings
This includes the information about the image set as wallpaper under (Photo). Also, theme, color, background and font settings under (Settings) > (Theme Settings).
- Date and Time Settings
- Power Save Settings
- Printer Settings
- Accessory Settings
This includes keyboard or mouse settings under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings). Also, Voice changer settings under (Settings) > (Accessory Settings) > [Voice Changer].
- Display Settings
- Sound Settings
- Security Settings
- Remote Play Settings
- Network Settings
- Internet Browser Settings
This includes bookmarks, history, and settings added under (Internet Browser).
- PlayStation®Network log in information
This will remove the PlayStation Network sign-in ID and password for the user who is currently logged in.
Also, do not confuse [Restore Default Settings] with the [Restore PS3 System] option (the next option down on the menu). The [Restore PS3 System] will not only restore the default settings, but it will also delete all hard disk content. (You will lose all saved content from your PS3 system's hard drive if you use [Restore PS3 System].)
If you need to restore your video settings to default, please click here for instructions.