PlayStation Knowledge Center

Advanced Search
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by product.  Limit by product
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by category.  Limit by category
Search Tips
Was this answer helpful?
Thanks for your input!
Knowledge Center logo PlayStation Knowledge Center
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.
This is for feedback only. You will not receive a response.
Please provide your feedback below.
Still need help or have a question? Please contact us below.

Phone Icon Click here to view our phone support hours.
Forums Icon Click here to learn about Community Forums.
[PS4™ system] Updated 02/13/2014

You can take screenshots while playing a game or from the home screen. You can then upload these screenshots to an online service by using the SHARE button, or send them to Friends with Messages icon (Messages).


Sharing a screenshot

Taking a screenshot

Press and hold the SHARE button for at least 1 second.

  • Depending on the content or the state of the system, it might not be possible to take a screenshot.
  • To check screenshots that you have taken, select [Profile] from the function screen, and then select Capture icon (Captures).

Uploading a screenshot

  1. Press the SHARE button, and then select [Upload Screenshot].
  2. Select a screenshot.
  3. Select an online service.
    This screen is displayed only when there are multiple online services available.
  4. Enter a comment, and then select [Upload].
  • The first time you connect to an online service, you must enter your account information for the online service. If you do not have an account, create one by visiting the online service's website.
  • Only 1 screenshot can be uploaded at a time.
  • Methods for deleting uploaded screenshots vary by online service. Refer to the website of the online service.

Sending a screenshot to a Friend

You can use Messages icon (Messages) to send a screenshot to a Friend.


Sharing a video clip

Saving a video clip

Video of the most recent 15 minutes of gameplay is continuously and automatically recorded. When you press the SHARE button, that video is saved as a video clip.

For some games, there might be scenes in which video cannot be recorded. The maximum 15 minutes of gameplay that are saved as a video clip do not include scenes in which video cannot be recorded.

  • You can set whether notification icons will be displayed when scenes cannot be recorded, whether you want to include microphone audio when recording a video clip, and other options. Press the SHARE button, press the OPTIONS button while the menu for the Share feature is displayed, and then select [Share Settings] > [Video Clip Settings].
  • For voice input, use a headset or the microphone on a PlayStation®Camera.
  • To check saved video clips, select [Profile] from the function screen, and then select Capture icon (Captures).

When you know the scene you want to save

Press the SHARE button twice at the start of the scene you want to save, and then press the SHARE button again at the end of the scene. A video clip can be saved with a maximum of the past 15 minutes of gameplay video. The 15 minutes are measured backward from the moment when you press the SHARE button to end the scene.

Uploading a video clip

  1. Press the SHARE button, and then select [Upload Video Clip].
  2. Select a video clip.
  3. Edit the video clip
    You can limit a video clip to a scene you like by trimming its start point and end point. Select [Edit]. Also, you can add comments and if you link your account from Twitter, you can adjust settings for features such as posting a link to the broadcast.
  4. Select [Upload].
  • The first time you connect to an online service, you must enter your account information for the online service. If you do not have an account, create one by visiting the online service's website.
  • Only 1 video clip can be uploaded at a time.
  • Methods for deleting uploaded video clips vary by online service. Refer to the website of the online service.