PlayStation Knowledge Center

Advanced Search
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by product.  Limit by product
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by category.  Limit by category
Search Tips
Was this answer helpful?
Thanks for your input!
Knowledge Center logo PlayStation Knowledge Center
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.
This is for feedback only. You will not receive a response.
Please provide your feedback below.
Still need help or have a question? Please contact us below.

Phone Icon Click here to view our phone support hours.
Forums Icon Click here to learn about Community Forums.
[PS4™ system] Updated 02/13/2014

This article provides information on setting your PlayStation® 4 as your Primary system with your Sony Entertainment Network Account.

By activating your PlayStation 4 as primary you can enjoy numerous benefits and actions

  • Anyone who uses your Primary PS4™ system can enjoy applications you purchase from PlayStation®Store.
  • You can automatically download to the PS4 system content you pre-ordered, or content purchased on PlayStation®App.
  • You can connect to the PS4 system from a PS Vita system via the Internet using Remote Play.
Image

Activating a system

There are two ways to activate your system.

  1. First time sign-in to your PSN account: You will be prompted to activate the console during the Sign-In process.Image
  2. After you have signed into your PSN Account: Select [PSN] > [Activate as Your Primary PS4] > [Activate].

Deactivating a system

You can deactivate your account from your PS4 or at http://account.sonyentertainmentnetwork.com/.

  1. PS4: Select [PSN] > [Activate as Your Primary PS4] > [Deactivate] on an activated PS4™ system.
  2. Sony Entertainment Website: Go to http://account.sonyentertainmentnetwork.com/
    • Select [Deactivate All] under [Account] > [Media and Devices] for the type of content for which you want to deactivate all activated systems.

Additional Information

  • You can activate only one PS4 system per account.
  • If a user activates a system with his or her account, other users on the system can use applications and enjoy some PlayStation Plus benefits from that account, even if that user is not logged in.
  • To enjoy certain PlayStation Plus benefits, you must subscribe to the service.
  • You can deactivate a PS4 system only from that system. Deactivate the PS4 system before transferring or disposing of it.
  • If multiple users have activated the system as their primary PS4 system, deactivate it for each user.
  • Depending on the type of content, you might not be able to deactivate all of the activated systems using this page.
  • http://account.sonyentertainmentnetwork.com/ is only available in certain countries and regions.