PlayStation Knowledge Center

Advanced Search
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by product.  Limit by product
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by category.  Limit by category
Search Tips
Was this answer helpful?
Thanks for your input!
Knowledge Center logo PlayStation Knowledge Center
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.
This is for feedback only. You will not receive a response.
Please provide your feedback below.
Still need help or have a question? Please contact us below.

Phone Icon Click here to view our phone support hours.
Forums Icon Click here to learn about Community Forums.
[PS3™ system] Updated 05/06/2013

If you wish to remove your personal information from your PS3 system for whatever reason (i.e., sending it in for service, selling it to someone else, etc.), you can do so by performing the following steps. This will ensure you delete any personal information from the PS3, including any Sony Entertainment Network account details. If you need to send your system in for service and are unable to access the XMB™ for any reason, you may skip these steps.


Click here if you wish to contact SCEA for service instructions.


  • Deactivate your system

    You can only have a maximum of five activated systems allowed on one Sony Entertainment Network account and must have the system physically with you in order to deactivate it. Because of that, it is a good idea to deactivate your system before you no longer have access to it. Click here to learn how to deactivate your system.

  • Back up any essential data you wish to keep (i.e., music, photos, videos, game saves, etc).
    Click here for information on backing up data on your PS3.
  • Remove your Sony Entertainment Network account information from the PS3. To remove your Sony Entertainment Network account information, you can do one of the following:
    • Delete each local user on the PS3.
      1. On the XMB™, go to Users icon (Users) and sign in to each user account.
      2. With the user name highlighted, press the Triangle button icon button.
      3. Select "Delete" and press the X button icon button.
      4. The message "If you delete the user, saved data for the PlayStation®3 format software, messages, and bookmarks will also be deleted. Do you want to continue?" will appear. Highlight "Yes" and press the X button icon button.
      5. You will receive a confirmation message "Are you sure you want to delete the user?" Highlight "Yes" and press the X button icon button.
      6. The user will now be deleted. Repeat for all users.
    • Format the PS3 hard disk drive.

      By formatting the PS3 hard disk drive, all data on the hard disk drive will be erased. If you wish to save your data, make sure to copy it to an external storage device, like a USB flash drive. Please note, this may take a couple hours to complete.

      To format the hard disk drive:
      1. Go to Settings icon (Settings) > System Settings icon (System Settings) and press the X button icon button.
      2. Highlight [Format Hard Disk] and press the X button icon button.
      3. The message "Do you want to format the hard disk?" will appear. Highlight "Yes" and press the X button icon button. The hard drive will then be formatted.
    • Delete billing (credit card) information from your Sony Entertainment Network account.

      If you wish to take extra precaution or are unable to access the XMB™ of your PS3, you may delete the credit card information from your Sony Entertainment Network account(s). Click here for instructions on how to modify your billing information.
  • Be sure to follow all of the instructions that were given to you by SCEA when sending your system in.
    If you are still waiting for the service instructions email from Consumer Services, please click here.


Once we receive your PS3 at our service center, turn around time is approximately 7-10 business days. Also, please be aware that the service center reserves the right to repair your console, exchange it with a factory certified unit, or return it to you according to the service center's diagnosis