PlayStation Knowledge Center

Advanced Search
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by product.  Limit by product
Screen Reader users press enter to Limit by category.  Limit by category
Search Tips
Was this answer helpful?
Thanks for your input!
Knowledge Center logo PlayStation Knowledge Center
Please tell us how we can make this answer more useful.
This is for feedback only. You will not receive a response.
Please provide your feedback below.
Still need help or have a question? Please contact us below.

Phone Icon Click here to view our phone support hours.
Forums Icon Click here to learn about Community Forums.
[PS4™ system] Updated 02/13/2014

This article provides information on uploading, backing up, and deleting PS4 save files.

Backing Up PS4 Save Data

To back up your PS4 Save Data, navigate to [Settings] > [Application Saved Data Management] > [Saved Data in System Storage].  From there, you will find 3 options: Upload to Online Storage, Copy to USB Storage Device, and Delete:

Upload to Online Storage

If saved data is updated, it is automatically saved to the PSN server when you log out. By saving it to online storage, you can download saved data to another PS4™ system and continue playing a game. To use this feature, you must subscribe to PlayStation®Plus.

You can specify for each game whether to turn on or turn off automatic uploading, and also manually upload saved data by selecting the saved data and then selecting [Upload]. Before using the automatic upload feature, you need to do the following:

  1. Activate the system as your primary PS4 system.
  2. Set a check mark in  (Settings) >  [Power Save Settings] > [Set Functions Available in Standby Mode] > [Connect to the Internet].
  3. Set a check mark in  (Settings) >  [System] > [Automatic Downloads and Uploads] > [Enable Automatic Downloads and Uploads].

Additional Information:

  • The maximum storage capacity that can be used with online storage is 1 GB, and the maximum number of saved data items that can be stored is 1,000.
  • You can check the progress of uploads under  (Notifications) > [Uploads].

Copy to USB Storage Device

You can copy saved data to a USB storage device that is connected to the PS4 system. Saved data that you copy can be used as a backup, and you can copy saved data from the USB storage device to another PS4 and continue playing a game.

Additional Information:

  • You can select for each game the saved data to copy.
  • To use this feature, you must sign in to PSN.

Delete

This lets you select the saved data for each game to delete from your PlayStation 4.


Managing PS4 Save Data in Online Storage

To manage your PS4 Save Data in online storage, navigate to   [Settings] >  [Application Saved Data Management] > [Saved Data in Online Storage].  From there, you will find 2 options:

Download to System Storage

By saving PS4 Save Data to online storage, you can download saved data to a PS4 system and continue playing a game without losing your game progress. To use this feature, you must have a subscription to PlayStation Plus.

Delete

This option allows for PS4 saves stored in cloud storage to be removed from the cloud. 


Managing PS4 Save Data in USB Storage

To manage your PS4 Save Data on a USB storage device, navigate to   [Settings] >  [Application Saved Data Management] > [Saved Data on USB Storage Device].  From there, you will find 2 options:

Download to System Storage

By saving PS4 Save Data to a USB storage device, you can download saved data to a PS4™ system and continue playing a game without losing your game progress. This feature does not require a subscription to PlayStation Plus.

Delete

This option allows for PS4 saves stored on a USB storage device to be removed from the USB device.